How Yorkshire Artist Purple Faye Made Dog Portrait 3D Acrylic Paintings of Skye and Ollie

In this blog post I’m going to show you how I (purple loving Yorkshire artist Purple Faye) made the ‘Skye’ and ‘Ollie’ dog pet portrait 3D acrylic paintings.

Commission your own pet portrait 3D acrylic painting

Working from photographs I started by drawing out the design onto a piece of cardboard that I’d already cut to the size of the blank canvas that I was using. I then cut the design out and layered up the cardboard to make it 3D. When I was happy with the cardboard layers I stuck them together onto the blank canvas.

Once the glue was dry I could move on to the modroc stage, modroc is bandages with plaster of Paris in them like the stuff they put on your arm when it’s broken. I started by cutting my pieces of modroc to the size that I needed. I did this when it was dry as it’s easier to cut dry, once modroc gets wet it starts to set, so by cutting it when it’s dry I could take more time with it.

Next I filled a container with water, and a bit of glue mixed in to help it stick, and started to piece by piece dunk the cut-out bits of modroc in the water, wring them out and place them over the cardboard layers. I continued to do this until all the cardboard was covered.

I added some fur texture to the modroc when it was setting, with my finger nails, then I left it to dry before I started painting them.

I used acrylic paints to paint them, each one started with a white/grey base layer before I started to paint in the details working from the photographs. I finished them both with a cream/pale yellow background and varnished them once dry.

Get your own dog’s portrait made into a 3D acrylic painting.

Now you know how purple loving Yorkshire artist Purple Faye made the Skye and Ollie dog portrait 3D acrylic paintings.

Get your own dog’s portrait made into a 3D acrylic painting by Purple Faye.

Any questions email me info@purplefaye.co.uk or message me on Facebook

Stay safe

Purple Faye x

Leave a comment