Bye Bye Big Studio in Pontefract

On Friday the 13th October 2017 I gave the keys back to my big studio in Pontefract Pearl Assurance House.

20170209_110057

I only got the keys on Friday the 10th of June 2017 but unfortunatley the lease was only on a monthly basis and the Landlord had given us notice. (He’s sold the space to someone else to use as a gymn, even though there’s already a gymn on the floor above, but there we go.)

I moved out of the smaller room there in Februrary 2017, which you can read about here, and I was enjoying being back. Especially as I had so much room this time.

One of the first things I did on moving in was remove most of the green and pink covers off the lights, this was a more fiddly job than I thought it was going to be but was worth doing. It made the space look brighter and made it easier to see my work at the correct colour.

I was quite busy doing events elsewhere during the short time that I had this studio, Holmfirth ArtweekArtist Demo for Wakefield Art Club and Wakefield Artwalk and the Exhibition at the Theatre Royal Wakefield (read about each by clicking the highlighted titles)

You can also see videos of these on my youtube channel here.

So this meant that for a lot of the time I was moving things in and out as I needed to, it still took a couple of days to get packed up and moved out by the key hand in day though.

I would like to say a big thank you to Axisweb for giving me the opportunity to be there, even for the short time I was, and even though I’m not actively looking for a new studio at the moment if something does become available I would consider it. Even another short lease because that usually means that it’s cheaper than something more perminant.

For the time being I’m back in the spare bedroom at home, which needs a bit more organisation as it’s a much much smaller space but I was still using it as a studio to do bits at home at the same time as having the bigger space in Pontefract anyway, so I know I can make it work.

I’ll let you know if I decide to move into another studio space.

Till then,

Take care.

Purple Faye x

purplefaye.co.uk

 

Leave a Reply

