Purple Faye Art adventure: Wakefield Artwalk 31st May 2017

Yesterday evening it was the Wakefield Artwalk again.

“Every other month, venues across Wakefield come alive with a variety of visual arts and crafts, live music, and performances”

As I missed the one in March, because I went to Amsterdam which you can read about in the blog post I wrote about it , I was looking forward to seeing what people were up to this time. I wasn’t disappointed, there was plenty to see and I had lots of inspiring chats with all the lovely people I met on the way. Even though I was trying to get round to see as much as I could at the same time too.

I started at the Chantry Chapel where I saw the colourful abstract work of Terence Fletcher and had a little chat with Brian Holding, I’d had my own exhibition there in last year’s May Artwalk which you can read about in my blog post here.  I then went over to The Hepworth. I don’t normally go to The Hepworth as part of the Artwalk because I can go there at other times and most of the other things on the artwalk are only open for the Artwalk so I go to see them while I can instead. But this time there was a curator talk on at 6pm, plus since I was last there, which you can read about here, they’ve got new Barbara Hepworth and Henry Moore exhibitions on so I wanted to go see them too. And since it’s only over the road from the Chantry Chapel it was easy enough for me to go to.

The curator talk about the Gyorgy Gorgon work was really interesting and I really enjoyed going round The Hepworth when there was hardly anyone else there. Even though I’ve visited the Disobedient Bodies exhibition before, read about that here, I enjoyed it even more when there was no one else there. I kept seeing things that I didn’t remember seeing before, which could have just been my poor memory or that there weren’t people getting in the way this time. Either way I enjoyed it, so even if you’ve already been to see the exhibition I can recommend going to see it a second time, but you only have until the 18th June (Father’s day) to go to see it, so not long left.

Next I went into town to Wakefield Cathedral to see the Jacqui Parkinson: Good Grief! series of antique handkerchiefs stitched by the artist as an outpouring of grief exhibition. While I was there I was treated to a spinning wheel demonstration by the lovely Tracey too.

From there I walked round the corner following the signs to The Cathedral Centre to see the ‘Home’ exhibition of traditional and digital drawings by local artist Cameron Hopkins.

Next stop was Jordans Solicitors on King Street to see the Evinced works by Lora Caselli.

After that I went up to SNAP Arts (near the college) to see Louise Barrett: Wastelands solo exhibition of new works.

I wanted to see the Ella Holland Wall Mural again, it’s outside the Wakefield One building. She did it in October last year as part of her residency at The Art House, so on previous Artwalks it’s been dark when I’ve seen it. It was nice to see it in the daylight, even if someone has added their own contribution to it now too. You can see some pics of it in different lighting in the blog post I wrote about the January Artwalk.

I decided that I’d go down (the hill) to the Neon Workshops next to see the new neon and mixed media work by Richard William Wheater, then come back up to do the rest as I didn’t want to miss it by running out of time.

I then went to the Theatre Royal Wakefield and was really impressed with the Melanie England ‘Sparkle Thief’ Memories installation of upcycled hand made wreaths, giving new life to day to day items from the past. My favourite three were the ones with liquorice allsorts, painted toy soldiers and cotton reels.

Lastly I went to Unity Works to see Ronald Jackson’s ‘The Art of Rugby League’ exhibition, plus the paintings on slate of Jill Green and some of Lucy Fiona Morrison’s epic landscape paintings.

Then before I knew it it was after 9pm and I was too late to get to anywhere else but I left Wakefield in a great mood, feeling really positive after talking to people and looking forward to telling you all about it so you can go to the next one on the last Wednesday of July (the 26th).

 

Till next time,

Take care.

 

Purple Faye  x

purplefaye.co.uk

2 thoughts on “Purple Faye Art adventure: Wakefield Artwalk 31st May 2017”

Leave a Reply

