Art Adventure: Wakefield Artwalk 28th September 2016

On Wednesday 28th September (2016) I went to Wakefield for the Artwalk 5pm-9pm. The past couple of Artwalks (May and July)  I’d been taking part in events (including my solo exhibition at Chantry Chapel for May’s Artwalk that you can read about in the blog post I wrote about it) so wasn’t able to see what everyone else was up to. This time I didn’t want to do that so I could experience the Artwalk like I had in March (you can read the blog post about that one here)

“Every other month, venues across Wakefield come alive with a variety of visual arts and crafts, live music, and performances. All are welcome, so slip on some comfy shoes and come and enjoy the art on offer whilst you explore our city”  www.artwalk.org.uk

First stop was the Chantry Chapel to see Rachel Richardson (@bobshaped) and the set of 12 prints that she made while she was artist in residence at Wakefield Cathedral during the renovation of the east end. I was a bit early to see the photographs of Mark Richardson (who was also exhibiting at Chantry Chapel) as he was still setting up when I got there just after 5pm but what I did get to see  looked good. I was hoping to pop back in at the end of the artwalk but unfortunately that didn’t happen as time ran away with me as it usually does on Artwalk.

Next I went up to The Picture Box Gallery to drop off some more of my 3D Print Greetings cards (these ones were framed too) and to make sure I was able to keep my work in there for the next 3 months. I even got some good news that I’d sold a few more of my 3D Print Greetings cards there too.

From The Picture Box Gallery I walked the short distance to Wakefield Cathedral to see the artwork by Manygates Art Group plus the prints and beautiful fused glass by children from local schools (and a bit more work from Rachel Richardson too).

Next I went to see the colourful abstract paintings of Lisa Robinson at the Wakefield Beer Exchange, followed by the high definition aluminium wall prints and tabletops by Peruso Art to life at Jordans Solicitors.

I knew that there was going to be lots of things to see at Westgate Studios, including more of Lisa Robinson’s work and a chance to speak to her in her studio, work by Wakefield Art Club including artist Ann Marie Day, an exhibition by Helen Field in the project space, “After in B4” which was a group exhibition including Lucy Morrison (who I went to see at The Great Yorkshire Show this year which you can read about here), Depression Support group art and poetry featuring work by Fiona Kearns (who’s work I went to see as part of the Leeds College of Art End of Year Show “Made here.”) There were also several artist studios open too so that’s where I headed to next.

After Westgate Studios I went to Unity Works to see the work by Luke Bartle, Sally Sallett and Maxine Wood, then across the road to Theatre Royal Wakefield for artist group EIYIA “presenting their magical world of dreamlike creatures in a special one-off exhibition Varelse”

EIYIA is a group of artists, born from the deepest love for art, for the thrill of being able to create ideas
that at first seem impossible, parallel to our reality, worlds that seem to seek answers to the most
complex questions we all ask ourselves. The members of EIYIA, inseparable for over four years now
are; Emily Anne England, a young women from England, who has slowly discovered between pages old
and faded, a rich universe of magic. Her work tries to display her love for detail, with a hidden emotion
created thanks to the rich pallet of colour, and along side her, Álvaro Lope Morales Quevedo, a Spanish
artist who has always felt distant from this world, with his works of art full of feeling, show what your
imagination can create, queens, goblins and magical creatures that seem born from Swedish literature.
Both lovers of the distant unknown always looking to create new proyects for the future to come.”

After the Theatre Royal Wakefield I headed to Westgate Chapel to see the exhibition of fabric collages “12 Moonths” by Jan Millington which depicted each moon of 2016 then on to The Art House.

Again I knew there was going to be lots to see at The Art House and I started by visiting the lovely Linda (Linda Bulleyment Ceramics) in her studio and had a good chat about stuff. She even very kindly gave me one of her beautiful raindeers as it was an outcast and she was just going to chuck it away otherwise. I then popped by Helen Thomas’s studio and Ann Balmforth’s before seeing the work by the graduate artists in residence Morgan Bodington (neon pink shadows and gold leaf cracks), Yvone Baines (string on floor) and Lisa Nash (sculptures). I finished by having a nice catch up with Mary Duggan (Contrary Mary Designs) and then back up to The Picture Box Gallery to see how their night had been.

 

The next Wakefield Artwalk is Wednesday 30th Novemeber 2016 5pm-9pm and is the last one of the year.

Till next time,

Take care

Purple Faye x

purplefaye.co.uk

 

One thought on “Art Adventure: Wakefield Artwalk 28th September 2016”

Leave a Reply

