Making of the “Jez” and “Ginge” kitty cats 3D Acrylic Paintings by artist Purple Faye

Here’s how I made the “Jez” and “Ginge” kitty cats 3D Acrylic Paintings. They are what I made as part of my demonstration at Holmfirth Art Week this year (which you can read more about here.)

The inspiration for them was the cute cats in the app game Neko Atsume (Cat Collector). I really liked how their simple design still looked cute. It reminded me of some of my earlier work where I gave the cats and dogs big cartoon eyes and I decideed that it was something that I wanted to return to.

Originally I was going to do a few in different poses, I am still going to do some more, but for the purpose of the demonstration I felt that I could show the process more effectively by having them in the same pose but with more subtle differences in size, texture and colour.

Last year when I did the demonstration at Holmfirth Art Week I showed the first few stages up to putting the modroc on but I didn’t do any painting, so this year I wanted to prepare some that were already at the painting stage so I would be able to demonstrate that part too.

My plan was to have one at each stage so that when people visited at different times of the day they would still be able to see the full process.

I started by drawing the basic outline of a cute cat on cardboard and cut it out, I then used this as a template to make the rest by drawing round it onto more pices of cardboard.

When it came to cutting these new cats out I’d change the shape slightly so each one would be slightly different then made them 3D in the same way by using more cardboard.

When I put the modroc on I gave each one a different texture using techniques such as scrunching, scoring and smoothing so that I could show what the modroc could do. I then left these to dry and sanded them before taking them to the demonstration.

If you would like to make one for yourself you can do so in a workshop with me at my studio in Pontefract, WF8 1PE (above Wetherspoons)

Contact info@purplefaye.co.uk

You can buy a kit from me directly, The Picture Box Gallery in Wakefield or from my shops on etsy and folksy.

etsy.com/uk/shop/PurpleFayeShop

folksy.com/shops/PurpleFaye

You can see videos of this on my youtube channel too youtube.com/purplefayecouk

I’m hoping to make some more 3D Acrylic Paintings of cute kitty cats with love heart noses soon.

What cat poses and colours should I do? Would you like to see more dogs and other animals done like this too?

Let me know in the comments below.

Thanks

Take care,

Till next time.

Purple Faye x

purplefaye.co.uk

Leave a Reply

