Visit to the National Railway Museum in York

Last Friday (10th June 2016) my boyfriend took me to the National Railway Museum in York. I’d been wanting to go since I started making my 3D Acrylic Paintings of The Mallard and The Flying Scotsman earlier this year (see the making of those by clicking on the links).

Unfortunately the Scotsman was out on tour on the day of our visit.  These special tours of the UK aren’t run by the National Railway Museum, but you can find out more about them here. We did get to see the Mallard though, and lots of other wonderful things too.

 

 

I found it a bit overwhelming when we first walked into the Great Hall. Seeing all the massive trains squeezed in next to each other in such a big space made me feel very small. Getting to be so close up you could see that there had been some impressive skills used to make and run them.

As I was there to research ideas for new 3D Acrylic Paintings to make I couldn’t help getting a bit snap happy at first (as you can see from the pics). There was so much to see, especially in the warehouse that holds over 750,000 objects from railway history. I really liked seeing the historical carriages in the Station Hall, it was amazing to see how much more lavish Queen Victoria’s was compared to the one used by the royal family during the first world war. I could have spent hours longer there but sadly we ran out of time so we’ll have to go back for another visit another time.

Hopefully these pics have given you a bit of a taster of the delights to be seen, but if you get a chance to go for yourself then I hope that you do get to.

About the National Railway Museum in York

NRM York

Leeman Road,
York,
YO26 4XJ

Opening times
10am – 6pm
Closed 24, 25, 26 Dec

nrm.org.uk

The new exhibition about ambulance trains used in the first world war will start on the 7th of July and looks likes it will be worth a visit. You can find out more about it here.

I’ve got a few ideas of what I want to make 3D Acrylic Paintings of next but I’d love to know what you’d like to see.

Let me know in the comments below.

 

Till next time

Take care

Purple Faye x

purplefaye.co.uk

2 thoughts on “Visit to the National Railway Museum in York”

Leave a Reply

