Poppies at the Yorkshire Sculpture Park: Saturday Sculpture Adventure

To make the most of the last day before the clocks went back I decided to go on an adventure looking at sculpture.

I started at the Hepworth then caught the free bus from there to the Yorkshire Sculpture Park. (The free bus is only on for the duration of the Caro In Yorkshire exhibition 18.7.15 – 1.11.15 so the last chance to use it is this Saturday the 31st)

As the bus set off the rain started to lash it down and I thought that I was going to be in for a rather damp slide round the park. Luckily it didn’t last long and I had a lovely time strolling round seeing as much as I could.

I especially wanted to make sure that I made it to see the Poppies: Wave, which is a section of the poppy sculptures that were at the Tower of London to mark the centenary of the outbreak of the first world war.

 

If you want to go see the Poppies: Wave on Remembrance Sunday the 8th of November or Armistice day the 11th of November then entry is by ticket only as they want to “ensure a calm and contemplative experience” it is still free to visit though.
See ysp.co.uk for details.

Hopefully I won’t leave it so long until I go back to visit the sculpture park (last time I was there was a college trip, far too long ago).

Let me know what your favourite thing at the Yorkshire Sculpture Park is when you go visit.

Till next time,
Take care
Purple Faye

purplefaye.co.uk

Leave a Reply

