Holmfirth Art Week – Sun 5th – Sat 11th July 2015

This was my first year submitting to be part of Holmfirth Art Week, I’d been encouraged to give it a try while I was at the Artworld 2 Gallery in Wakefield (which unfortunately closed down at Christmas) and I was pleasantly surprised to be successful and asked to exhibit two of my 3D Acrylic Paintings.

I was finding it difficult to choose which two I’d take but thanks to my newsletter subscribers and social media followers/likers “Lancaster Bomber” and “Mummy and Baby African Elephants”‘ were picked.

Then as an additional bonus a few weeks before it was due to take place I was given the opportunity to go along on one of the days with more of my work to do a demonstration showing how I make my 3D Acrylic Paintings. These would also be available for sale so I wanted to make the most of this additional opportunity but I didn’t know how much room I was going to have to display them.

Fortunately when I was there for taking in day, which was the week before the Art Week started, I was able to see where the demonstrating area was going to be and the size of the board I’d be given to use. So that made it easier for me to try to figure out what to take.

I wanted to take a range of different sizes/prices and subject matter to give people an overview of what I can do and hopefully entice them to find out more. I planned on using the larger ones on the board and the smaller ones on the table near to where I’d be demonstrating how to make them. I’d also take along some of the “Make Your Own” starter kits that I’ve been developing for those that are inspired to try it for themselves.

Whenever I’ve done arts and crafts fairs in the past I’ve always struggled with wanting to take everything I’ve got so there’s more chance of someone seeing one that they like enough to buy. Obviously this isn’t very practical or realistic to do but I still can’t help worrying that I’ve picked the wrong ones to take and that if I’d only taken such and such instead they would have sold. This feeling is especially heightened when I’ve not been selling anything. So I was actually quite impressed with myself for only taking a relatively small amount (for me).

IMG_2615
Start of the demonstration of my 3D Acrylic Paintings at Holmfirth Art Week

Along with the finished 3D Acrylic Paintings I wanted to take some that were at different stages of the process so I could show people more easily how they were made. I took some small ones, of a car, boat and plane, that I’d made a while ago for the same purpose of showing people the process when I was at the pop up shop/gallery/studio in Castleford. But I also wanted to take some larger ones to put on the board for people to see from more of a distance too. I decided that I’d make a baby elephant and leave it at the modroc stage so then I could show how the texture is added by the modroc and that I’d make a Spitfire and leave it at the cardboard stage to show how the different layers go together to make it 3D. (You can see them in the picture above).

I picked a baby elephant and a Spitfire because of having “Lancaster Bomber” and “Mummy and Baby African Elephants” in the exhibition. I thought it might help explain the process better if they’d seen the finished work along with work in progress of similar ones of the same subject matters (it made sense in my head anyway even if I’m not explaining it very well here)

For the demonstration itself I decided that I’d just make a little one from scratch so then it wouldn’t take so long with waiting for things to dry. I picked a highland cow because they’re good for showing how to get texture with the modroc and they’re not too fiddly either.

I had planned on completing it  but in the end I only got to the modroc stage. It wasn’t quite how I thought it was going to be in terms of it being a demonstration so there weren’t many people who stuck around to watch what I was doing for long. This meant that I ended up waiting for some people to come before doing a bit to show them, then when they went I stopped and waited for more people to come before doing a bit more. So I didnt get to the painting bit.

Even though it wasn’t quite what I was expecting it to be I’m still glad that I did it and was even talking to the organiser about doing it again next year (so fingers crossed for that).

Unfortunatley I didn’t sell anything while I was there doing the demonstration and when I went on collection day I’d not sold either of the paintings in the exhibition either. I can’t help being disappointed about it but I’m going to keep trying though.

Any comments or questions are more than welcome so feel free to tell me in whatever way is best for you, email info@purplefaye.co.uk or comment on here or message me on social media, whatever works for you 🙂

Till next time

Take care

Purple Faye x

purplefaye.co.uk

 

4 thoughts on “Holmfirth Art Week – Sun 5th – Sat 11th July 2015”

Leave a Reply

