Great Yorkshire Show 2015

The Great Yorkshire Show is England’s largest agricultural show. It’s held in Harrogate at the specially dedicated Great Yorkshire Showground. The first show was in 1837 and it’s been on every year since then on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday at the beginning of July (usually the second week).

In 2012 it unfortunately had to be cancelled after one day due to horrible conditions that made the car parks too muddy and unsafe to use.

This year I went on the last day (Thursday 16th) with my little sister. It was her first year of going whereas I’ve been for the past few years (apart 2012 when I didn’t manage to go before it got cancelled) so I enjoyed getting to show her round a bit.

I was even more excited about going this year than usual as the showground is where I had a stall at the British Craft Trade Fair (BCTF) in April this year. So I had the memories of doing that along with past years of attending the Great Yorkshire Show itself.

There’s so much to do at the event that it’s difficult to get to see it all. I was wanting to see the art show and demonstrations as research and my sister wanted to see the cows because she loves cows.

image

Especially short horns, she picked this one to take home with us……but we ended up tasting and buying so much cheese and other delicious things from the food hall that we didn’t manage to get the baby moocoo afterall.

image

Plus once we got a big display of prize winning lilies for my mum there definitely wasn’t any room left in my purplemobile for a cow. Even a little one. That was one of the good things about going on the last day of the show, being able to buy the flowers and cheese etc that had been entered into the competitions. There was even an auction at 3pm for the mountains of cheeses that were there.

The weather was glorious with the sun shining and we both said that we’d had a really enjoyable day. Looking forward to next year already 🙂

Advanced booking tickets are already available for the event which will be on the 12th-14th July 2016. Fingers crossed that we all get to go.

Have you ever been to the Great Yorkshire Show?  Did you get to go this year? Are you planning to go next year? I’d love to hear your experiences and plans about it so drop me an email to info@purplefaye.co.uk or leave a comment for me to read 🙂

Till next time,
Take care

Purple Faye x

2 thoughts on “Great Yorkshire Show 2015”

Leave a Reply

